South Aegean, European  Region of Gastronomy candidate for 2019

On 21 June, Mr. Giorgos Hatzimarkos, Governor of the Region of the South Aegean travelled to Aarhus to announce the official candidacy of the South Aegean to be named European Region of Gastronomy in 2019.

The governor was accompanied by the Vice Governor of Primary Sector, Agriculture and Regional Policy of the South Aegean Region, Mr. Filimonas Zannetidis, the Governor’s Scientific Consultant and Coordinator of South Aegean Region’s Candidacy for 2019, Mrs. Heidi Lazani, and by Mr. Loizos Soroniatis, Managing Director of the Development Agency of South Aegean Local and international press attended the event held within the framework of IFAMA (International Food and Agribusiness Management Annual Conference) and in the presence of European Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development, Phil Hogan.

Dr. Diane Dodd, President of IGCAT, complimented the work already achieved by the South Aegean Region in terms of branding and exporting products. She looked forward to see how the islands of the South Aegean could become more self-sufficient and thus sustainable in terms of food supply in the future.

The Mayor of Sibiu, Astrid Fodor, wrote to the Platform congratulating the region of the South Aegean for their decision and looking forward to the success of both regions. The two regions bidding for 2019 can look forward to exciting and advantageous collaborations in the future.

The European Region of Gastronomy Platform and Award aim to contribute to better quality of life in European regions, by highlighting distinctive food cultures, educating for better health and sustainability and stimulating gastronomic innovation. IGCAT (International Institute of Gastronomy, Culture, Arts and Tourism) organises the award with the support of European institutions.