European Regions of Gastronomy 2018 Announced in North Brabant

The title of European Region of Gastronomy 2018 was recommended to be given to two bidding regions, Galway – West of Ireland and North Brabant (Netherlands).

On Thursday 17 March 2016 at the Province House of Den Bosch. The international jury comprising of IGCAT experts was presided by Prof. Dr Ilie Rotariu of the Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu; Anna Blaua from Tourism Development Bureau (Latvia), Francisco de Calheiros the Executive Coordinator at Consórcio Minho IN, Jesper H. B. Christensen from the City of Aarhus (Denmark), Prof. Roberta Garibaldi from the University of Bergamo (Italy), Ilona Sares from ProAgria North-Savo (Finland), Ramon Sentmarti from the Generalitat de Catalunya (Catalonia Government).

The jury was impressed with Galway – West of Ireland’s:

Support and commitment to grass-roots initiatives “we want our actions to be embedded in our communities, schools, in our homes, as well as in our policies and strategies” – this links very well with IGCAT’s commitment to empowering local communities.


Galway’s wide stakeholder base and the efforts they have made already to bring in private, public, third-sector and knowledge institutions which is a principle of this award.

With reference to North Brabant the jury was impressed with:

The strong triple–helix model that keeps business close and contributes to innovation and hospitality.


The strong communication with the other regions envisaged in the food truck concept – which is driving to upcoming partnering European Region of Gastronomy in coming years.

The jury also had recommendations for each region, which included providing more visibility internationally through their marketing and communication programmes, increasing collaboration with the other regions in the programme and promoting and supporting the philosophy of International Institute of Gastronomy, Culture, Arts and Tourism – IGCAT especially in collaborations and convergence of gastronomy, culture, arts and tourism.

Both regions were recommended to be awarded the title (pending a jury visit to Galway – West of Ireland). The award ceremony will take place within the framework of the IFAMA conference in Aarhus- Central Denmark Region on 20 June 2016 and the award will be presented by European Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Areas, Phil Hogan.