World Region of Gastronomy


What is meant by ‘Gastronomy’?

Gastronomy refers holistically to agriculture, culture, hospitality, production, traditions and food cultures.

What is meant by ‘Region’?

The Region can be a province, county or country defined by the partners (including at least three municipalities and adjoining rural areas).

Is the Award a competition?

No, it is not a competition. The World Region of Gastronomy title is awarded to regions that have joined a Platform and adhere to the philosophy and have met the criteria developed by IGCAT (International Institute of Gastronomy, Culture, Arts and Tourism) that ensures cross-sectoral working in order to support sustainable regional development.

What are the start and end dates – do we need to organise a full year of activities?

The partners can decide when to celebrate the opening and closing of their official year. Flagship events that engage wide stakeholders should take place throughout the year.

What happens after your awarded year ends?

The title year is aimed to be the kick-start to a long-term development process and therefore the region may continue to use the title as long as it is a member of the Platform and continues to develop activities and events coherent with the values and principles that the Award aims to promote.

How many regions can hold the title each year?

A maximum of 5 regions can be awarded each year (preferably in different continents).

What is the title that will be awarded?


Website maintained by